Last month, TALCB Appraiser/Investigator Marjorie Caldwell briefly described the experience audit process that all trainees must satisfactorily complete in order to become a licensed or certified appraiser in the State of Texas. Appraisers who want to upgrade from Licensed Residential Appraiser to Certified (Residential or General) Appraiser must also satisfactorily complete the audit process. The Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB), state law (Texas Occupations Code 1103 (the Act) and the Texas Appraiser Licensing
The Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) adopted changes to the education and experience criteria for real property appraisers with an effective date of May 1, 2018, and the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board adopted rules to implement these changes in Texas to coincide with the AQB effective date. Under the new criteria, no college-level education is required to obtain a Licensed Residential appraiser credential.
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board takes pride in providing high quality education and licensing services, and effective consumer protection across Texas. In recent months, there have been significant issues with the quality of customer service we are providing to consumers and to our license holders. I take personal responsibility for addressing these issues. I want you to know that I – along with the entire Texas Licencing and Certification Board staff – recognize your frustrations, and we are committed to solving these issues.
Due to a high volume of requests, we are experiencing delays in processing applications, renewals and experience audits. The current experience audit processing time is between 90-120 days for a licensed residential or certified residential applicant, and between 120-150 days for a certified general applicant. We apologize for the delay, and we are working diligently to reduce the backlog.
TALCB Is Offering a 2-Hour Enforcement Update Course
Want to get the latest information right from the source? TALCB is now offering a 2-hour ACE course. Topics covered are:
- Who Are We And What Do We Do?
- Enforcement 101: Basic Processes For Complaints, Audits, and Backgrounds
- Case Statistics and Enforcement Related Data
- Recent Enforcement Issues and Trends
- Enforcement Staff Available to Answer All Your Questions
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) has approved the educational offerings listed below to satisfy Appraiser Continuing Edcucation (ACE) education. The expiration dates for TALCB approval and the approved hours of credit are also shown. While TALCB approves these courses, you must contact the provider directly for scheduling information.
The Board may accept a course of study to satisfy pre-licensing education requirements for certification or licensing established by the Act or by the rules if the Board has determined that the course is related to real estate appraisal and was:
TALCB has approved the courses listed below to satisfy pre-licensure education requirements (through the expiration date shown) for the number of classroom hours shown and the delivery method listed. Please Note: TALCB does not schedule courses. You will need to contact the provider directly for scheduling information.