Licensed Residential Appraiser - Potential License Holder
A Licensed Residential Appraiser is a person who is licensed by TALCB and has met the educational, experience, and examination requirements for licensing. The scope of work includes appraisal of non-complex residential 1-4 unit properties with a transactional value less than $1,000,000 as well the authority to complete complex federally related transactions (FRT) and non FRT transactions with a value less than 250K.
- Citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
- 18 years of age or older
- Provide 2,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months
- Meet TALCB’s qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity
College Education Requirements
In order to become a Licensed Residential Appraiser in Texas you must have an Associate’s degree or higher OR 30 semester credit hours from an accredited college or university.
Becoming a Licensed Residential Appraiser
- Meet the qualifications.
- In order to become a Licensed Residential Appraiser you must complete 150 hours of qualifying appraisal education outlined by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) and TALCB.
- File your application to become a Licensed Residential Appraiser using our Online Services. If you don’t already have a username and password for My License Online Services register now. If you have done business with TALCB or TREC online in the past, log in now. Include proof of meeting educational requirements. Documents may be submitted via email or faxed to 512-936-3899.
- After the education and experience requirements have been met you will be notified of your eligibility to sit for the examination. You may then access the exam candidate handbook for instructions on how to register to take the exam.
- Get your fingerprints taken and pass your background check. You are required by law to have fingerprints on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so a background check can be performed. If you have previously submitted fingerprints for a TALCB or TREC license, no additional fingerprints are required. Fingerprints on file for other agencies will not be accepted. A license will not issue if the background check has not been passed. Expect a delay if you are notified of an investigation into your background history.
- All requirements must be satisfied within one year of the application being received by TALCB.
- You will be notified to submit the National Registry fee once all requirements are successfully completed.
Upgrading from a Residential Appraiser License
If you are a Licensed Residential Appraiser and your license is current, you may work towards meeting the requirements for a Certified Residential Appraiser or a Certified General Appraiser. To upgrade a current Residential Appraiser License, you need to meet the additional education, experience, and examination requirements.