Become a Certified Residential Appraiser
A Certified Residential Appraiser is a person that is certified by TALCB to perform residential real property appraisals. A Certified Residential Appraiser is authorized for the appraisal of 1-4 unit residential properties without regard to transaction value or complexity of the appraisal for federally related transactions and non-federally related transactions.
- Citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
- 18 years of age or older
- Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months
- Meet TALCB's qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity
College Education Requirements
In order to become a Certified Residential Appraiser in Texas you must meet one of the following college-level education requirements:
- Option 1: Bachelor’s degree in any field of study;
- Option 2: Associate's degree in a field of study related to Business Administration, Accounting, Finance, Economics, or Real Estate;
- Option 3: Successful completion of 30 semester hours of college-level courses in each of the following specific topic areas:
- English Composition (3 hours)
- Microeconomics (3 hours)
- Macroeconomics (3 hours)
- Finance (3 hours)
- Algebra, Geometry, or Higher Math (3 hours)
- Statistics (3 hours)
- Computer Science (3 hours)
- Business Law or Real Estate Law (3 hours)
- Two elective courses in any of the above topics or in Accounting, Geography, Agricultural Economics, Business Management, or Real Estate (3 hours each);
- Option 4: Successful completion of at least 30 hours of College Level Examination Program® (CLEP®) examinations that cover each of the specific topic areas in Option 3 (see Equivalency Table for applicable exams);
- Option 5: Any combination of Option 3 and Option 4 that includes all of the topics identified; or
- Option 6: No college-level education required for appraisers who have held a Licensed Residential credential for at least 5 years and have no record of adverse, final, and non-appealable disciplinary action affecting the Licensed Residential appraiser's legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice with the 5 years immediately preceding the date of application for a Certified Residential Appraiser credential.
File Your Application
Track the status of your application using the Application Status Tracker.
Submit your application to become a Certified Residential Appraiser using our Online Services. If you don’t already have a username and password for My License Online Services register now. If you have done business with TALCB or TREC online in the past, log in now. Include proof of meeting educational requirements. Documents may be submitted via email or faxed to 512-936-3899.
Apply by Mail
If you prefer, you can also apply for your Certified Residential Appraiser license using our paper application. This may take longer to process and you will need to pay a paper filing fee and include copies of your education with the application.
Complete Qualifying Education
200 hours of qualifying appraisal education outlined by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) and TALCB.
Get Your Fingerprints Taken and Pass Your Background Check
You are required by law to have fingerprints on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so a background check can be performed. If you have previously submitted fingerprints for a TALCB or TREC license, no additional fingerprints are required. Fingerprints on file for other agencies will not be accepted. A license will not issue if the background check has not been passed. Expect a delay if you are notified of an investigation into your background history.
Take The Exam
License exams are administered by PearsonVUE, a testing service company.
You will be sent a notice with instructions for scheduling the exam and obtaining a copy of the exam Candidate Handbook.
If you fail the exam three times, additional education will be required.
You will be notified to submit the National Registry fee once all requirements are successfully completed.
Upgrading from Certified Residential Appraiser
Once you are a Certified Residential Appraiser, you may work towards meeting the requirements for a Certified General Appraiser. You can do this by associating with a Certified General appraiser, who must sign the appraisal reports, in order for you to appraise non-residential properties. To upgrade you need to meet the additional education, experience, and examination requirements.