Become an Appraiser Trainee
An Appraiser Trainee is a person who is authorized (approved, but not licensed) by TALCB to gain legal real estate appraisal experience under the supervision of a Certified General or Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser.
If you are thinking about becoming a Certified or Licensed Residential Appraiser, the first step is to obtain an Appraiser Trainee License. Through this designation and your training you’ll learn about the role of the appraiser and work alongside a supervising appraiser. Your supervisor will teach you appraisal practices and approved techniques for assembling information about the property, analyzing this data, and developing opinions of value.
- Citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
- 18 years of age or older
- Legal resident of Texas for a minimum of 60 days immediately prior to filing the application
- Meet TALCB’s qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity
Find a Supervisor
Find a certified appraiser to act as your supervisor.
File Your Application
Track the status of your application using the Application Status Tracker.
Submit your application and fee to become an Appraiser Trainee using our Online Services. If you don’t already have a username and password for our Online Services register now. If you have registered online with TALCB or TREC in the past, log in now.
Submit proof of education after applying online via email.
Apply by Mail
If you prefer, you can apply for an Appraiser Trainee license using our paper application. This may take longer to process and you will need to pay a paper filing fee and include copies of your education with the application.
Complete Qualifying Education
- 75 hours of qualifying appraisal education
- 4 hours the Board approved Appraiser Trainee/Supervisory Appraiser Course
All qualifying education must be completed not more than 5 years before the application date.
Get Your Fingerprints Taken and Pass Your Background Check
You are required by law to have fingerprints on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so a background check can be performed. If you have previously submitted fingerprints for a TALCB or TREC license, no additional fingerprints are required. Fingerprints on file for other agencies will not be accepted.
A license will not issue if the background check has not been passed. Expect a delay if you are notified of an investigation into your background history.
Remember you cannot start working with your supervisor until TALCB has approved your application. When you begin to work with a supervisor, you are required to keep an Appraisal Experience Log to document your training and experience.
Work Product Review