Appraiser Complaint Rates Clarified
You may have heard about or read an article published in the Spring 2017 edition of Appraisal Buzz magazine entitled “When You Get Notice of a State Complaint”. This article discusses the complaint process in general and what to consider if you receive a complaint about your appraisal practice. Near the beginning of the article, reference is made to residential appraisers in Texas having “roughly one in six” odds of a complaint being filed against them with the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board during “one particularly busy year”. The actual odds in the busiest year in Texas was 1 in 13 in 2010.
Complaints may be filed by any person or group and it’s the Board’s job to process and investigate those under state and federal law. While we don’t have control over the volume of complaints we receive, we want to help appraisers understand exactly what the statistics show about the likelihood of receiving a complaint, so we’ve compiled complaint data for the past 10 years. The bar chart below depicts the percentage of appraisers who have received a complaint in each of the past 10 years. Of course, only a small portion of those complaints result in disciplinary action, since many complaints are dismissed or result in additional education as the primary outcome.