The Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) adopted changes to the education and experience criteria for real property appraisers with an effective date of May 1, 2018, and the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board adopted rules to implement these changes in Texas to coincide with the AQB effective date. Under the new criteria, no college-level education is required to obtain a Licensed Residential appraiser credential.
Education and Licensing Services
In the wake of Hurricane Harvey, the Texas Real Estate Commission and the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (the Agency) extended all deadlines for two months for all license holders and applicants statewide with license expiration or application deadlines in August and September. This extension ended on October 31, 2017.
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) has approved the educational offerings listed below to satisfy Appraiser Continuing Edcucation (ACE) education. The expiration dates for TALCB approval and the approved hours of credit are also shown. While TALCB approves these courses, you must contact the provider directly for scheduling information.
|Certified General Appraiser:||Fee||Late Fee < 90 days||Late Fee > 90 days||Texas Online Fee||Federal Registry Fee||FBI Fee||Total Fee||Total Fee Without Federal Registry Fee|
The Board may accept a course of study to satisfy pre-licensing education requirements for certification or licensing established by the Act or by the rules if the Board has determined that the course is related to real estate appraisal and was:
TALCB has approved the courses listed below to satisfy pre-licensure education requirements (through the expiration date shown) for the number of classroom hours shown and the delivery method listed. Please Note: TALCB does not schedule courses. You will need to contact the provider directly for scheduling information.
Prior to filing your application, you need to find a Certified General or Certified Residential Appraiser licensed in Texas to act as your supervisor. Your supervisor is responsible to the Board and to the public for your conduct while acting under your Appraiser Trainee’s license and is required to sign all of your appraisal reports. Appraiser Trainees are allowed to have more than one supervisor. Keep in mind that a supervisor can have up to five trainees at one time.
As a Licensed Residential Appraiser, you must renew your license every two years. A renewal notice will be sent about 90 days before your expiration date. As part of the renewal process, you must complete certain continuing education courses to help improve your ability to deliver the highest possible quality of appraisal work. These continuing education courses are also designed to keep you informed of current developments in the appraisal field.